TRAFFIC / DUI DEFENSE

Traffic / DUI Defense

DUI Defense

A DUI conviction can have severe repercussions such as revocation of your driver’s license and criminal penalties, including jail time. The consequences are serious and you should contact an attorney as soon as you are charged with this offense.  It is important for you to  discuss the events surrounding your arrest with your attorney while  it is fresh in your mind to give you a better chance to achieve a positive outcome with your case.

Under Nevada’s Illegal Per Se law, if your alcohol concentration is at 0.08 percent or above while driving, you will automatically be found guilty of driving under the influence and can be arrested and convicted of a DUI. Additionally, even with less than 0.08 percent alcohol concentration, you can also be charged with a DUI if there is sufficient evidence to support that you were under the influence of alcohol and/or a controlled substance such as prescription and over-the-counter medications or an illegal substance.

Because Nevada has an implied consent law, you will automatically be fined and have your license suspended if you refuse to submit to a blood test and your refusal to submit to this test may result in the police officer using reasonable force to obtain blood samples from you.  You can also be arrested immediately for refusing to submit to blood and alcohol concentration (BAC) testing.

The penalties for a DUI in Nevada are as follows:

1st offense:

  • 2 days to 6 months of jail time
  • $400 to $1,000 in fines and penalties
  • License suspended for 90 days
  • Must attend a DUI school (average tuition fee is $150)
  • Possible 96 hours of community service and/or substance-abuse treatment program

2nd offense within 7 years:

  • 10 days to 6 months of jail time or house arrest
  • $750 to $1,000 in fines and penalties
  • License suspended for 1 year
  • 100 to 200 hours of mandatory community service
  • possible suspension of your car registration
  • Possible order to attend a substance-abuse treatment program or undergo clinical supervision for up to 1 year

3rd offense within 7 years:

  • 1 year to 6 years of jail time
  • $2,000 to $5,000 in fines and penalties
  • License suspended for 3 years
  • Possible suspension of  your car registration

If you have been arrested for a DUI, give us a call.  We will help you  and inform you of all your available alternatives and help you cope with the stress of the situation. The attorneys at LJ Law will mount an aggressive defense to get you a dismissal, acquittal or reduction of charges.

Tickets

If you receive a traffic ticket, think twice before pleading guilty, paying a fine and attending traffic school.   Although traffic tickets are a common occurrence, many people don’t realize the devastating consequences associated with a conviction.

A traffic conviction can result in an increase in your insurance, demerit points on your driver’s license, suspension and revocation of your license.

We help you avoid, traffic school, points on your license and will keep you from having to attend court. There are options and defenses to traffic tickets.

LJ Law provides personal traffic ticket representation while working hard to obtain a successful resolution through either reduction of the charge, reduction of the fine, or a dismissal of the traffic ticket. Our basic moving violation fee is $25 for new clients and free of charge for existing clients and those who have referred clients to our firm.

Give us a call for your free consultation and let us get you the best results.

Minor Accidents

Automobile insurance companies take a very hard stand against policyholders who are involved in minor fender-bender accidents.  The insurance companies offer a take-it-or-leave-it approach to such claims.  They are betting that you will accept the minimal amount offered to get rid of your claim because you do not want to deal with the hassle, stress and expense of going to court to fight them.

These minor accidents usually result in little damage to the vehicle and yield soft-tissue injury to the person.  Unfortunately even though the person’s body can be severely injured, the soft-tissue injury is very difficult to detect with the naked eye or X-rays.  For this reason, the insurance companies will deny these claims or make minimal offers and many times turn the tables around by making it look like the accident victim is trying to defraud the insurance company by filing a bogus claim.

Don’t let the insurance companies bully you into accepting less than you are entitled to.  If you or your loved one was injured or harmed in a car accident the attorneys at LJ Law will protect you and your rights during the recovery and insurance process to get you the compensation you deserve.  Call us today, we can help.

 

HAVE QUESTIONS?

 ASK OUR LAWYERS

Click to Call 702-562-8125

GET IN TOUCH WITH US

Our goal is to provide our clients with competent legal representation while giving you the peace of mind and comfort in knowing that your interests are our priority. Use the form below to submit a message to us and we will get back to you promptly!

CASE EVALUATION FORM
Fields marked with an * are required
Help Text